Baked crab rangoon

I just realized that the first two recipes I’m posting here don’t have very many veggies actually! This is quite strange for me, but hey, they’re delicious & healthy, so all is well. =)

So, I’m still on a fast food gone homemade kick, friends. And it’s going oh so well.

One of my other favorite fast food-y items is crab rangoon. Ahhhh. So yummy but probably not amazingly healthy.

Enter, homemade crab rangoon!

This recipe is almost vegan actually. It would be vegan if I had not put crab in it. But, I love me some crab.

I just used store bought replacements for sour cream & cream cheese, which turned out wonderfully. Someday, I would love to make dairy-free versions of these products myself, but that’s something I can’t justify doing with my precious time right now.

A note for my vegan/vegetarian friends: all you’d have to do to adapt this recipe is leave out the crab. I would probably replace that with some finely chopped mushrooms for a little bit of a meaty texture, and mix it in with everything else. But perhaps you’d prefer just adding some extra green onions. Or maybe some chopped fresh spinach. Whatever makes you happy inside. =)

2013-09-24 20.12.14-2

Baked Crab Rangoon (adapted from ‘Iowa Girl Eats’)
2 Tablespoons Tofutti sour cream
8oz Tofutti cream cheese, softened
1 green onion, sliced thin
1 clove garlic , minced
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon raw sugar
1/2 cup white crab meat, drained & chopped
wonton wrappers

1. Preheat oven to 415 degrees.
2. Combine sour cream, cream cheese, green onion, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, crab, and sugar in a bowl.
3. Lay out wonton wrappers and place about 1 Tablespoon filling into the center. Wet along each of the outer edges and fold the wonton wrapper over. Press down to seal tightly.
4. Place crab rangoon on a foil-lined, olive oil sprayed baking sheet and spray the tops with more olive oil. Bake 10-12 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown.

Sweet & Sour Sauce (adapted from allrecipes.com)
3/4 c raw sugar
1/3 c white vinegar
2/3 c water
1/4 c soy sauce
1 tablespoon ketchup
2 tablespoon cornstarch

1. Place the sugar, vinegar, water, soy sauce, ketchup and cornstarch in a medium saucepan, and bring to a boil. Stir continuously until the mixture has thickened.

One thought on “Baked crab rangoon

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian Pot Stickers | Once Upon a Veggie

Leave a Reply

