Things I’ve learned about grocery shopping

So, I don’t have a recipe for you in this post, I just wanted to share a few tips that I’ve started following lately which have been super helpful!

  1. Eat more vegetables. Meat & seafood are delicious, yes, but they are also expensive! You don’t have to be a vegetarian of course, but if you can bulk up your meals with more vegetables and less meat, it is healthier & cheaper. =)
  2. Watch the price per ounce, not necessarily the total price. If you think about it, the only price that really matters is how much you’re paying for how much you’re getting. There is so many different types of packaging that this is really the only way to accurately compare items to get the most for your buck. I recently decided that I would not buy anything that was more than $0.35/oz. I sometimes make exceptions for this rule as a treat, but I’ve found that most things over that amount end up being really expensive. I just think creatively and replace it with something else that won’t dramatically alter the recipe or simply leave it out if it isn’t essential.
  3. Don’t buy large amounts of something you won’t use up right away, unless it doesn’t expire for a REALLY long time. This probably seems obvious, but sometimes it’s hard when you just want a little bit of greek yogurt or lettuce! My two solutions for this are either a) use the salad bar or b) plan more than one recipe that uses the perishable ingredient.
  4. Whenever possible, buy frozen vegetables instead of fresh or canned. Fresh vegetables just go bad so quickly! Frozen is always my first choice, then the salad bar for small amounts, then creating multiple recipes to use up the ingredient. Canned stays good for a long time too, but frozen has more nutrients and less salt!
  5. Check the sodium content on canned vegetables. If you do need to buy something canned, the sodium can be awful!! Always always always check to see if there is a “no salt added” can of your favorite vegetable. Just today I was looking for canned diced tomatoes, and most of them had upwards of 200mg of sodium per serving!!! I looked around a bit and finally found a “no salt added” version. It has 5mg of sodium. HUGE difference. And hey, if you like salt, you can always add some yourself. Chances are that adding a few shakes of salt will still be way healthier than buying a can of tomatoes that starts with 400 mg/serving!

After following these tips, I’ve had so many fewer things go bad on me in the fridge, and my grocery bill was significantly reduced!! Very exciting. All these little things add up for sure.

Happy shopping! =)

Leave a Reply

