Honey baked tofu

I have been wrestling with the best way to make tofu for awhile now. Whenever I try to pan fry it, it always gets all gross & crumbly. I think if I used a thin layer of oil that would work better than just spraying the pan, but that just feels a bit too unhealthy for me.

So, on to baking tofu! After this recipe, I have decided that I will no longer pan fry tofu again. The baked tofu turned out far better than any tofu I’ve ever made!

I totally ate this whole block of tofu by myself, so I would recommend either making more or serving it over rice, quinoa, etc. But then again, I was pretty hungry so maybe two moderately hungry people could share!

I’ve also been having an intensely strong craving for sugary things lately. I typically don’t keep any sugary treats in my house, so when this craving hits I tend to eat weird things that I do have. For example, the other day I ate about half a jar of peanut butter with a spoon. While not incredibly healthy, I’m sure, I’d be willing to bet that it’s better than eating a bag of mini donuts. 😉

Anyway, this recipe for tofu is wonderfully sweet with a bit of spice. Feel free to use agave if you are a strict vegan. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

afterfocus_1395799750189

Honey baked tofu (adapted from Healthy Tipping Point)
1 block extra firm tofu
2 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp honey or agave
1 1/2 tsp chili powder
2 tsp black pepper
1 tsp paprika
Sesame seeds

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Press tofu until 1 1/4″ in diameter. Cut tofu in small cubes.
  3. Mix all ingredients together except sesame seeds. Microwave for 40 seconds and stir thoroughly.
  4. Spray a cooking sheet with olive oil. Dip the tofu in the marinade and place on cooking sheet. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes. Flip all pieces over, sprinkle with more sesame seeds, and bake an additional 15 minutes.
  6. If you let them sit for awhile, they will get firmer & crunchier. I just ate mine right away though. 😉
Leave a Reply

