Stuffed tomatoes with quinoa & mushrooms

When I was in France, my host mom made this wonderful dish with baked tomatoes. I just loved the texture of tomatoes cooked in the oven like this, so of course I had to find a healthier, veggie version of this dish. =)

The last time I went shopping, I realized quinoa was slightly cheaper if I bought it in bulk as opposed to a box, so I filled up a bag… and bought $14 worth of quinoa. I clearly have no concept of how much quinoa I actually need. But it’s not going to go bad anytime soon so I’m not too concerned. This just means there’s going to be a lot of quinoa dishes coming up! Tehee.

I also was really excited to make this recipe because it was an excuse to use up some of my herbs I’ve been growing! I’ve never grown anything myself before, but I’ve always loved the idea of a small herb garden. Despite my black thumb, they’ve been growing okay and I was pretty pumped to try some fresh herbs! They were quite yummy indeed. Of course, you can use dried parsley in this recipe, but the flavor of fresh herbs really is a special treat. =)

Enjoy this simple but yummy dish!

afterfocus_1397189007727

Stuffed tomatoes with quinoa & mushrooms (adapted from Honey & Milk)
6 medium tomatoes
2/3 cup water
1/2 cup quinoa
8 oz mushrooms, chopped
1 tbsp dried minced onion
3/4 tsp minced garlic
2 tsp oregano
2 tbsp fresh chopped parsley (or 2 tsp dried parsley)
Pepper & salt to taste

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Cut off the tops of the tomatoes and set aside.
  3. Remove the insides of the tomatoes with a spoon and toss insides in food processor. Arrange the hollowed tomatoes in a 13×9 baking dish, sprayed lightly with olive oil.
  4. Blend tomato insides until smooth.
  5. Heat garlic in a pan with a little olive oil, just until fragrant (30 seconds). Add in mushrooms and cook until most of the liquid is gone.
  6. Add in all remaining ingredients, including water, tomato puree, and dried spices. Cook until much of the liquid is gone. If the quinoa is not yet fluffy, add more water & cook until it is a fluffy, light texture.
  7. Stir in fresh chopped parsley. Fill tomatoes with tomato puree/quinoa/mushroom mixture. Place tomato tops on stuffed tomatoes. Spray lightly with more olive oil.
  8. Bake for 50-60 minutes, until tomatoes are very wrinkled and soft.
Leave a Reply

