Asian style quinoa

Friends, I have a few staples that I love to make a lot – pasta, pizza, soup, tofu, and quinoa. I just love this fancy superfood that is so easy to make into so many different dishes. The classic vegetarian staple is often grains + veggies, and quinoa is definitely my grain of choice. I’m not a huge rice person, so quinoa is pretty much where it’s at for me.

I have been looking into experimenting with different grains in future recipes though, did you know there are so many grains that people hardly ever talk about? There’s millet, farro, barley, buckwheat, the list goes on. I want to try them all! So, stay tuned for that happening. 🙂

Anyway, it’s about time I made another Asian dish, so here you go! This one is simple & delicious – hardly any prep time required.

afterfocus_1401328626432

 

Asian style quinoa (adapted from Overtime Cook)
1 1/2 cups raw quinoa
1 pound stir fry vegetables (I used a frozen mix that I left defrost on the counter)
1/4 cup sesame oil (or just use olive oil with 2 tsp sesame seeds, though the flavor is different)
2 1/2 tbsp rice vinegar
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp honey or agave
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp ground ginger

  1. Cook quinoa – 1 1/2 cups uncooked quinoa + 3 cups water.
  2. Meanwhile, mix all other ingredients (except veggies) to make the sauce.
  3. After quinoa is done, add in veggies and sauce. Heat over low for just a few minutes or until vegetables are warm.
2 thoughts on “Asian style quinoa

Leave a Reply

